Trusting in the Dark

Mark Twain Cave

Growing up 20 miles from Hannibal, Mo, I spent countless hours touring Mark Twain Cave. The legendary haunt of Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn was a favorite setting for family gatherings and visiting friends. I used to joke that I could step in as a tour guide if needed.

Last weekend I took my grandson to visit the cave for his first time. It’s been a long time since I traipsed the cavern but nothing had changed, except the winery across the road.

As we got out of the car and headed for the ticket counter, I realized he hadn’t given a thought as to whether or not he would have to buy his own ticket, he knew I would take care of it.

Likewise, as we entered the labyrinth of twists and turns he blithely took the lead in our group only occasionally glancing back to make sure I was still there. We all put our trust in our high school-aged guide to take the right fork in the road for the forty-five minutes of walking the maze.

If you’ve ever been on a cave tour, you might remember the part where they turn out all the lights so you get a feel for the total blackness the early explorers felt. Even then, he seemed cool. He knew I was there and had no worries.

I wish I could trust God like that all the time. I have some “tickets” I wonder about getting paid. Often when I step out of my cozy comfort zone into something that feels underground and cold, like the cave, I look for every opportunity to escape instead of enjoying the tour and trusting the Guide.

When the darkness envelops I tend to panic rather than just wait for the light to come back. Easy to look at the “what-ifs” instead of appreciating the adventure.

I’ll be back to the cave, more grandchildren will want their turn too. I’ll be back to my own caves too, you just never know when the next tour will start. Good thing there is always a guide.

Hope for the Best,

Tish

2 Responses to “Trusting in the Dark”


  1. 1 Linda Sylvester November 11, 2014 at 6:18 PM

    Thank you, Letitia for these timely words! Very helpful and comforting. Much love, Linda


Leave a Reply

