Change of Plans

Morning Walk July 24, 2013 020

Sitting at our dining room table surrounded by our still-up Christmas decorations, we were animatedly making plans. One of my favorite past-times.

Christmas was bountiful on many levels, all the December colds were over, and the recent days were full of end of the year fun and relaxation. The new season of Downton Abbey was starting that evening. January looked open and inviting.

Our pastor spoke that morning on the value of goal setting, another favorite activity of life coaches like me. It was one of those moments where you feel like you might actually be able to write the script for the next season.

I wrote in my journal that I felt so full of richness that I wondered if I would be drawing on it soon. The feast and famine cycle I was quite familiar with.

Then the phone call came.

Tom saw the look of shock on my face and knew someone wasn’t calling just to say hi.

My Mom was on her way to the hospital 300 miles away. I needed to get there.

The rest of the afternoon was a blur. I started simultaneously taking down the Christmas tree, calling my kids, packing my suitcase, buying tickets. In an instant, more than plans had changed.

I stayed five days and bought more tickets to come back each week for a few days till she is able to come home. Wite-out fills my calendar as previously scheduled work, events and appointments are all pushed aside. Glad to report she is doing well.

You will get a call like this sometime, we all do.  More than one.

How do we live fully present in the moment yet be ready to immediately embrace a whole other set of circumstances? I’ll let you know when I figure it out.

My times are in your hands. (Psalm 31:15)

Hope for the Best.

Tish

4 Responses to “Change of Plans”


  1. 1 linda sylvester January 12, 2015 at 4:08 PM

    Amen! So true. Blessings for your Mom, you and your whole family. Linda

  2. 3 Marya Outterson January 12, 2015 at 5:16 PM

    Praying for healing and sweet times with your Mom, Tish! Marya


Leave a Reply

