Paper Laundry

Paper Laundry 2In case you would stop by my home office, please don’t be too impressed that the desk top is all cleared off and neatly arranged. That’s because all the previous piles are now sitting in a laundry basket on the office floor.

Every year, starting around mid-December, I begin to stack up paper piles of “things to take care of after Christmas” and choose to immerse in the stacks of “things to do NOW” such as Christmas cards, receipts, lists and more lists of the to-do’s of the season.

Soon after the first of the year, I re-file/toss all the holiday lists and go back to the “other” piles. But not this year. Since I started my weekly travels to help my mother four weeks ago, the piles just got higher and higher and literally started falling over.

Laundry basket to the rescue!

One frustrating afternoon I decided to take all the piles and dump them into a laundry basket. A simple  “trick” I had done once before with great results.

Crazy but I am making much more progress sorting/filing/tossing from the basket than from the desk top. I think it is because the illusion of neatness (I even dusted the photos!) results in feeling more serene which gives me more energy to do the work of getting to the bottom of the basket.

So try my method! Do you have a desk pile or two too? Some overflowing closets or dressers? Crowded pantry shelves? Junk drawers? Start with clearing off the space and then deal with the items. You must have a laundry basket or empty box near-by. Trader Joe bags work too for small piles but are easier to stash away and forget about. I can’t ignore the laundry basket in the middle of the floor and I’m already thinking of my next clear-out project.

What works for you when paper gets out of control?

Hope for the best,

Tish

 

 

8 Responses to “Paper Laundry”


  1. 1 Linda Sylvester January 29, 2015 at 7:22 PM

    I seriously need to try this! Thanks for the encouragement.

  2. 2 Letitia Suk January 29, 2015 at 9:54 PM

    Let me know how it works for you!

  3. 5 judy February 1, 2015 at 12:45 AM

    LOL I love this!! I actually did it before you posted this because my sister and family were coming for dinner and my dining room table was completely filled with all my piles!! I tossed some, moved some and put the rest in the laundry basket and stashed it downstairs so we could eat dinner! For the next few days I was admiring how nice my dining room table was now that I could finally see it!! My daughter too even commented on it. I am trying to keep it clean, but oh how quick those papers start multiplying !!

  4. 7 Julia Moore February 17, 2015 at 7:00 PM

    I have yet to find an effective way of dealing with paper at home. One of my ten goals is to clear all the surfaces in our study of paper (including the floor, which means no laundry baskets). The 90-day deadline is helping so far. If I finally figure out a method, I will let you know!


Leave a Reply

