Seize the (Thankful) Moment

Thank You (Tiles)Moving fast as usual, I was going in the door and he was coming out. If I hadn’t looked up I would have missed the moment. This man once held a position of great power in our family, our children’s beloved pediatrician. Our youngest child is 28 so it had been a long time.

We both stopped in the doorway for the ten seconds it took for my four children’s childhood medical incidents to pass before me and another 60 to thank him for the excellent care he gave all of us during that long era. Re-assuring, gentle, competent, every anxious parent’s ideal caretaker for all things medical.

I took another 45 seconds to thank him for giving me permission to take care of myself in those early blur years and how I had quoted him so many times in my writing and speaking on that point. He seemed pleased and asked how they were all doing. I gave him the brief version, 15 seconds.

One more profound “thank you” and we went our separate ways. Probably 2.5 minutes in total. I thought about it all day.

I would love to have about a thousand more of those conversations, personally thanking those who have had any role in shaping me and those I love. Wouldn’t you?

If you need a little more encouragement, pick up “A Simple Act of Gratitude: How Learning to Say Thank You Changed My Life.” by Jon Kralik. Simple Act of Gratitude.  I think I need to make that an annual re-read.

I’ve lived long enough to receive a few “Thank You’s” myself and I am always blown away to hear how someone somewhere appreciated a word I said or wrote. I can float quite awhile on one thank you.

I do wonder how many other opportunities I have missed by not looking up, not taking the 2.5 minutes, deciding to say thank you “next time.” You too?

If you haven’t chosen a Lenten practice yet this season, perhaps this could be it: Saying Thanks.

Thank you , dear Reader.

Hope for the Best,

Tish

1 Response to “Seize the (Thankful) Moment”


  1. 1 Elaine Lewis February 27, 2015 at 1:49 PM

    Great reminder thanks !

    — Sent from Mailbox

    On Fri, Feb 27, 2015 at 11:40 AM, Hope for the Best


Leave a Reply

