Dance Party for One (or two)

ballet-girl-1395126-mIf you are walking on the sidewalk past my house you might wonder if that is really me dancing around in the living room, by myself. It is.

I am full of laments and excuses why I never seem to find the right exercise class to fit my schedule and interests. I know, I know, many of you have heard me say, “You find time for what you want to find time for” so I really don’t have a leg to stand on.

I do, however, have two legs to stand on or to walk on and I am very motivated to find the time to get 10,000 steps in a day. Has, of course, nothing to do with the friendly competition in my FitBit community.

But I extremely dislike being cold and to get those steps in requires more effort that strolling around my kitchen. I dread going outdoors and don’t own a treadmill.

I was so cold inside recently that I decided to put on some fast music and just move around in my living room to warm up. What a surprise to check my step count and see that my little dance netted me 500 steps! The Dance Party for One was born.

Now on my work-at home days I set my phone timer for every hour and dance two songs on the AHA (American Heart Association) Fitness station on my Pandora. Cinchy to get those steps and so much fun.

If my husband is also working at home he sometimes joins me and we laugh our way through the songs and occasionally try to have a “normal” conversation while we’re hopping our feet and swinging our arms. Like last Friday when we got home at 10:45 and I had 3 more songs to dance.

One of my favorite tunes is “The Happy Song.” I just google it on YouTube and dance along. 378 steps.

Try it! Timer rang, got to go now and get moving. 3025 steps left in the day.

Hope for the Best,

Tish

1 Response to “Dance Party for One (or two)”


  1. 1 Susan Chaney March 9, 2015 at 10:00 AM

    Brillian, Tish! How smart and fun – and yes, effective ammuntion against our Fitbit foes! 🙂


Leave a Reply

