The Great Hello Experiment

FullSizeRender(9)Have you heard the line from a frequently-played Christmas song that goes like…“Say Hello to Friends You Know and Everyone You Meet?” In a recent Chaplain meeting, one of my mentors challenged us to do just that as we walk the halls of the hospital, say hello to everyone you meet.  I decided to give it a whirl this week to see what would happen.

Wow, a lot of people roam the hospital halls at any given time! Moving from one unit to another I’m keeping my eyes open to the fellow hall-travelers and greeting each one. Hello… Hello… Hello… (keep smiling.) Sometimes I just say “Hi.”

I was somewhat surprised to note that most people greet me back or even start the greeting before I do. Some have their heads buried in their phones and others avert their eyes when anyone crosses their path. Might be more cultural than shy.

After about six hours on the first day the introvert in me was longing for a secret hallway where no one else would be just for a few minutes. Then someone said hi to me first and I remembered how good it felt to be recognized with a greeting. I kept it up. Perhaps I was the only one offering a greeting that day to one individual, I didn’t want to miss the chance.

I hope to get to the place where saying Hello to everyone I meet feels second nature but it still feels like a stretch.  I’m working on it in my neighborhood too and in the church lobby. You would think it would be easy there but we are a busy bunch sometimes.

Maybe someday I will try it in Target or the airport. I think Jesus would have been a “Hi” giver and probably added a name. A whole other level of greeting I aspire too.

Want to try too? Let me know how it goes.

Hope for the Best,

Tish

2 Responses to “The Great Hello Experiment”


  1. 1 Nancy April 27, 2015 at 4:29 PM

    Where I live in the south, this isn’t an experiment but a way of life. A nice way to move through life.


Leave a Reply

