What Ever Happened to “You’re Welcome?”

Thank You

From a thankful Northwestern student!

I am a thankful girl. I know that anything I have, accomplish, do, enjoy, had many fingers on it before it landed at my door. I like to thank those who cross my path, open doors, answer questions, do me favors and I am often profuse in my gratefulness.

What puzzles me is the common response, “No Problem.” I just started noticing this in the past year but perhaps it has been resounding for longer than that. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate the acknowledgement of my thankfulness. The “No Problem” is almost always offered in a kind tone.

Perhaps I am too much of a literalist. They probably didn’t mean I was a problem before and now I’m not, right? Is “you’re welcome” a dated statement? Is the message also unclear, “I’m welcome to what?” Sigh.

I like to keep up with the verbal times and stopped saying “groovy,” “far out,” and “tuff (do you remember that one?)” a long time ago so is “you’re welcome” passé’ now?

Might be a generational thing. Believe me, there are a lot of “generational things” I am really out of.

Can someone please clarify this for me?

Thank you. Hope it’s not a problem!

Hope for the best,

Tish

4 Responses to “What Ever Happened to “You’re Welcome?””


  1. 1 Carol Early Cooney June 11, 2015 at 5:02 PM

    Hmmm.. I might be one of those persons who say “no problem” I mean that it was no problem to do something for you and that I was happy to help. I guess a negative way of saying that I was happy to help.

  2. 3 myelevateproject June 11, 2015 at 5:42 PM

    Yes – exactly what Carol wrote!


Leave a Reply

