The 24 Minute Nap

hammock-overlooking-ocean-49385-mI once read about “napatoriums”, indoor napping rooms in public places. If one comes to my town, I’m signing up. No more sneaking around to catch a few quick winks. Pinterest has a few boards on the concept and if I ever figure out how to use it, I might pin something. Don’t hold your breath.

Mediterranean cultures have no problem with this. I fondly remember afternoons during my summer in Italy with a short-term mission group. Shops closed, curtains drawn and the whole culture seemed to take a nap between one and four. If we were having a noon meal at someone’s home, they would actually point the way to the sleeping area after lunch. Sigh!

In this season of my life, 24 minutes in the afternoon can buy 2 hours in the evening: A transaction I make just about every day. 4 minutes to fall asleep, 20 minutes of alpha brain waves. Resist the temptation to snooze 5 more minutes…any longer nap takes you into a different sleep rhythm which is harder to come out of.

A comfortable place, a light blanket, and a phone timer are all you need to provide a quick rest for mind and body. If you have small children, rest when they do. If you are in an office, see if you can close your door for that short period to rest or find a quiet place in an out-of-the-way area. Most places have them.

On the road? I have pulled into a parking lot, found a safe looking place, set the alarm on my cell phone and reclined the seat. Do what it takes.

Summer siestas are the best, especially in the back yard. I’m looking for a replacement for my wicker chase but a blanket on the grass works just fine.

Still not convinced? Try fitting a nap in for a week and see the results. Consider it a one minute investment in every hour of your day.

Hope for the best,

Tish

4 Responses to “The 24 Minute Nap”


  1. 1 susanmarlenekinney July 6, 2015 at 9:04 PM

    I happen to agree about the take a 24 minute nap in the afternoon and it buys you two hours in the evening! 🙂 Oh if we were only like Italy and dedicated to nap time in the afternoon! 🙂

  2. 3 judy slagle July 16, 2015 at 4:08 PM

    Hi tish, It is so coincidental that I read this now as I am in Spain. Each day after our noon meal the family I am staying with takes a rest until about 4-4:30. But then they stay up until 11:30- 12:00! It is definitely a more relaxing schedule. O like the idea of a napatorium! ; ) Hope you are well. Judy


Leave a Reply

