My Zig-Zag Day

Zig Zag Bridge at the Chicago Botanic Garden from Wikapedia.

Zig Zag Bridge at the Chicago Botanic Garden from Wikimedia.org

The last 24 hours didn’t exactly go according to plan. Zigs then Zags then Zigs again. Ever have days like that?

Beautiful morning, strong sermon at church, home for lunch and the rest of the day looked la-di-da smooth. My definite preference in the flow of a day.

First Zig involved a conversation with a dear friend who needed some help. Our friends crises are no more predictable than ours and hers needed my attention which I was glad to give. Back to the plan for about five minutes when the Zag hit.

Lightening, then thunder, then pouring then hailing, all out of a previously clear blue sky. Of course we had evening outdoor plans. Next Zig: Power out.

Not one easily swayed by a little bad weather, we regrouped and headed to the outdoor event. While there, my phone kept lighting up with more Zigs and Zags. One friend headed to the hospital, another one’s tree on fire, ongoing updates that the power was STILL off and calls from family members with their own updates. Yes I missed a few parts of the event!

Like cave explorers, we crept into our darkened house with flashlights as the power stayed off most of the night. My first text this morning was announcing the death of another dear friend’s Mom. Another Zag. More to follow as plans changed again to accommodate a trip to the funeral.

I was mentioning all these events to God this morning on my patio this morning as if they were news to him.

“You don’t have to know what’s next, you just have to know ME” was the response I heard.

Twenty-four hours later, I’m hanging on to those words. Still making my smooth plans but looking for that Zig-Zag bridge from here to there.

Hope for the Best,

Tish

PS Thanks for subscribing in the box on the right.

4 Responses to “My Zig-Zag Day”


  1. 1 linda sylvester August 3, 2015 at 7:30 PM

    Wise words!

  2. 3 Elda McGinty August 3, 2015 at 8:03 PM

    Thanks for your post today, Tish. There has been a lot of zig-zags lately; it was extremely encouraging to see God’s word for you. I will be reminding myself of those words as well.


Leave a Reply

