Birthdays in Heaven?

birthday-cake-1321827Years ago I signed up for one of those birthday reminder emails that starts notifying you about a week before a birthday so you can look good and get a card delivered in time. Ever use those?

I’m pretty good at remembering birthdays if you have been in my circle for a while. I didn’t need any reminder that my sister-in-law Karen’s birthday was last Saturday but I got the reminder a week ahead as well as the Facebook flag right on schedule. Karen died last January.

After 32 years of remembering her birthday, I thought about her all day.

One of the coolest things she did before she died was to celebrate the graduations of three of her children that she knew she wouldn’t see take place last spring. My brother, who is pretty cool as well, managed to pull off a private graduation-in-advance ceremony right at her hospice-bed-side at home. He got the robes from three different schools as well as a representative from each of the schools to come make a statement and present a diploma to each.

Graduation Party

Graduation Party

She wanted to make it until 2015 and she made it 10 days but nowhere close to her 53rd birthday. I wrote on her wall anyway. Who knows what you can see from heaven?

Funny (funny peculiar not funny ha-ha) was that another friend shared Karen’s birthday who is also now deceased. I got that reminder as well. Maybe they celebrated together as they did at a few parties on this side of heaven.

Like I told a patient last week who was trying to get the facts straight on heaven, I’ve got a lot of questions too. Will there be birthdays wasn’t one of them until last Saturday. Guess I’ll find out.

Somehow I think it will be a party all day every day.

Hope for the best,

Tish

4 Responses to “Birthdays in Heaven?”


  1. 1 Betsy Uzzell August 17, 2015 at 7:59 PM

    Beautiful, Tish.

  2. 3 Ann August 19, 2015 at 8:06 AM

    This story brought a tear to my eye. How brave and delightful of Karen and her family to celebrate at such a time.


Leave a Reply

