The Wait Is On! (again)

The Waiting Room

The Waiting Room

The list of things I am waiting for never seems to shorten. Sure, some items do come to pass but they are quickly replaced by new to-wait-for items. I know you live like that also as my clients and friends are always waiting for something too.

In my youth I really believed there would come a point in my later life when all things would be resolved. I hope I have a lot of “later” to go but somehow I think that is an urban myth.

Right now I am waiting for edits, a phone call, a certain resolution, an RSVP, an appointment, inspiration for a section of the book, and lunch. That’s just the practicals. On another level I’m waiting for many answered prayers, opportunities to speak and write, medical results, countless breakthroughs and in influx of good virtues.

Some waiting is fun like for a vacation or special event. A lot of it isn’t.

We lose a lot of time when we pause too long during the wait. I’m sure you’re familiar with the trail of thought…”As soon as ____ happens I will start ____ or do ___” and meanwhile a few years can slip by.

“Wait” is mentioned about 130 times in the Bible and often in reference to “Wait for the Lord” like “Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.” Psalm 27:14 Yup, working on that.

Another place I have underlined is: So Joshua said to the Israelites: “How long will you wait before you begin to take possession of the land that the Lord, the God of your ancestors, has given you? Sometimes I keep waiting for my “land” when God has already given it to me. You too?

This I have learned, waiting is normal not the absence of it so best get used to it and stop resisting.

What are you waiting for?

Hope for the best,

Tish

0 Responses to “The Wait Is On! (again)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

