The Most Dreaded Medical Test: Get It!

Prep Supplies

Prep Supplies

When my doctor told me it was time for a colonoscopy I didn’t think she meant “now.” So I waited another year. Even though my beloved grandmother died of colon cancer at 63, I felt “fine.”

On the way to that first exam, my darling husband reassured me by playing “Don’t Worry Baby” by my fav Beach Boys. Who was worried? Not us.

As everyone says, the prep was much worse than the exam and I was just glad it was over. As we waited for discharge, my doc came into the cubicle holding some photos and sat down. Not a good sign.

I guess she described the photo but what I remember were her chilling words, “You would have developed colon cancer in 3-4 years if we hadn’t removed this.” We drove home sans the song and waited for biopsy reports, clear.

I’ve been on the three-year plan ever since. The pesky pre-cancer growth keeps coming back.

So today I just finished my delicious apricot jello for breakfast and am looking forward to the mango version for lunch. Tomorrow is the big day again. I’m dreading every aspect of it and would love your prayers but this test will stay on my life-time to-do list. I hope it’s on yours too.

I once saw a brochure promoting the exam with the title, “The Cancer No One Needs to Get.” I will remember that tonight as I down the worst-tasting but best option for avoiding colon cancer.

P.S.A.: Get tested!

PS If you would like to know my excellent prep plan, leave me your email address.

Hope for the best,

Tish

11 Responses to “The Most Dreaded Medical Test: Get It!”


  1. 1 Betsy Uzzell January 13, 2016 at 2:15 PM

    I’m scheduled for my third colonoscopy on 1/26. (My mom died of colon cancer.) What are your prep tricks?

  2. 3 Liz Cramer January 13, 2016 at 3:42 PM

    I keep putting it off, but will make an appointment now. Would you pls share you prep tips? Thx.

  3. 5 tracy January 13, 2016 at 6:17 PM

    Still a few years away…but how often do you get a prep plan offered to you?? I would love it…my email address is jtpartyof5@att.net. Thanks!

  4. 6 linda sylvester January 13, 2016 at 7:40 PM

    I will be praying for you! I too receive these tests regularly. Thanks for the reminder.

    Much love, Linda

  5. 8 Desiree January 13, 2016 at 10:55 PM

    Ok, now I want to know…

  6. 10 Susan Chaney January 18, 2016 at 8:21 AM

    Yes, get tested! It’s a horrible test but reveals so much that won’t give you symptoms. A group of friends all challenged each other to do it: one got a 10-year reprieve, two others got 3 year reprieves and one was rushed into surgery and is doing well today – BECAUSE of the test. Just do it!


Leave a Reply

