A Role-Defining Date

001-001He was born February 20, 1901. I was his first grandchild. I wish I could say I remembered him well but only a few recollections remain. Ten days after I turned three years old, he suddenly died.

He stopped by almost every day of those three years and I can’t imagine how confused I was that he wasn’t coming over anymore. How do you explain death to a 3-year-old?

As you can see, I used to go with grandpa on beer deliveries for his job. My mom says he was the life of every party and an excellent dancer. I wonder how he would have imprinted me in the ensuing years. When I see  my husband play with our grandchildren, I get a glimpse and feel the impact of my early loss.

Exactly 105 years later on February 20, 2006, another child was born, my first grandchild. Separated by more than a century, each of these celebrants life experience would not be much recognized by the other. I am smack in the middle of the five generations spanning the past and the future. Each of their lives shaped mine and I had/have a strong influence on both as well.

FullSizeRender(51)

I wrote before how each of us can count on about 200 years of influence http://wp.me/pPRDV-d3 Their side by side photos displayed in our February gallery this month clearly spell it out for me.

February 20: perhaps an ordinary mid-winter date for you. but a role-defining one for me.

Granddaughter to Grandmother. Feels like the circle has come fully round again.

Hope for the best,

Tish

2 Responses to “A Role-Defining Date”


  1. 1 Ann Krumwiede February 23, 2016 at 10:12 AM

    That is the best photo ever!!!
    I love the shared birthday of grandfather and granddaughter.
    My dad was a great dancer too!


Leave a Reply

