Sparking for Joy

KondoYou can tell I’ve been reading Marie Kondo’s books * again because of the tell-tale bags full of  weeded out clothes/”komono “ waiting by the door to donate.

Kondo, known in my circles as “that tidy-up lady,” has landed on the NY Times Best Seller list over 73 weeks. I quickly admit to falling under her spell and making repeated trips to my closet and drawers to weed out the clothing I rarely wear because, after, all, it doesn’t “spark joy”, her criteria for keeping/tossing.

No, I haven’t managed to fold socks or stand up my jeans in a drawer but there are fewer of both since I started the process.

By the way, I haven’t touched my basement yet.

Yes, dear reader, there are some principles I just don’t agree with or even understand but like a friend once instructed me, “Eat the chicken and spit out the bones.” The parts of her two books that I like have …well, sparked a lot of joy in the simple day to day.

Have you unnoticed that order, beauty, color, are well documented in the Old Testament?  You might not have paid much attention as those instructions are often woven through those chapters that are easy to sort of “speed read.” Some time back, I decided to pay attention to those passages. Fascinating details.

When I get in touch with order, beauty, color in my closet and cabinets, I enjoy the experience. Somehow. I feel clearer, less weighed down by the excess, more appreciative of the things I’ve chosen to keep. When too much stuff piles up, I mostly get annoyed.

Like the game of “would you rather?”, I’m going for joy over annoyance.

How about you?

Hope for the best,

Tish

* The books: The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up and Spark Joy an Illustrated Master Class on the Art of Organizing and Tidying Up

PS Another closet-clearing post https://letitiasuk.wordpress.com/2013/01/24/clearing-the-closet-and-finding-my-style/

2 Responses to “Sparking for Joy”


  1. 1 mary nelson April 6, 2016 at 9:46 AM

    I agree—I want to feel happy when I go into my closet. I can’t afford to feel guilty, burdened, or depressed. I believe that in my main private closet less is better BUT I have learned that I have often gave away stuff that the next year I feel I wanted it, so in the standard basics if I can afford a closet to put off season then I tuck some undecided basics in and put them in a holding pattern.


Leave a Reply

