When is Your Last Chance?

Last chance“Are you going to try it this time?” my friend of forty plus years asked me. We were pouring over the menu at our favorite local restaurant where we have met for decades to share and sort out the myriad details of our lives.

She was referring to the house specialty which had about a zillion calories and loaded with everything I liked but didn’t fit with my current food-plan-of-the-day. I always chose something “more sensible, healthier” and vowed, maybe next time I would go for it. So far, I never had.

Next time for sure.

Only there wasn’t going to be a next time.

The restaurant suddenly closed and among the top of my laments was that I missed forever the chance to try that entrée. How did I know that night it would be my last opportunity?

Small, I know. Trite perhaps. But it became symbolic of so many small choices I put in the basket of “maybe next time.”

Not just the life and death conversations but the little choices like staying on the phone a little longer with my mom, getting on my bike instead of driving, finishing listening to the concerto on the car radio instead of rushing into the house to do more rushing, playing one more game of Uno with my grandchildren, dancing with my husband in the kitchen instead of doing the dishes. You get the idea.

 Sensible, healthier or more efficient aren’t the only wise options available.

To everyone’s surprise, the restaurant is reopening after all.  The first thing I’m ordering on the menu is the dish I always turned down.

You never know when it might be your last chance.

Hope for the best,

Tish

1 Response to “When is Your Last Chance?”


  1. 1 linda sylvester May 2, 2016 at 4:57 PM

    Amen!!!


Leave a Reply

