Food for the Soul

IMG_4286

Corner of my desk…

I slipped a five-dollar bill in my pocket and ran into the grocery store right after church to pick up something essential: a small bouquet of lilies for my desk. No matter that my fridge was fairly empty after a week of travel, the bread and milk could wait. My hunger was for flowers.

Years ago I started adding a few dollars to the grocery budget to add fragrance and beauty to my dining room table and quickly noticed the bonus side effect that the florals in the middle of the table kept all the other clutter away. A new housekeeping trick!

I used to think I needed to “receive” flowers and waited them out for special events. Now I create “special events” like every week and receive them from myself. 🙂

Dining room table

Dining room table

Don’t get me wrong, I still love the gifts! My dining room table is full of the glory of pink hydrangeas in a pot my son sent me for Mother’s Day and there is a bonus batch of long stem roses in the bedroom from a delivery error. Every time I travel, which is often, Tom greets me with new flowers as a welcome home gift. They never fail to thrill me. (BTW I travel with a small vase too.)

IMG_4283

Bedside table (bonus delivery!)

Yesterday my two-year-old granddaughter was hanging out and we strolled out to the back yard toward the swath of the lilies of the valley and gathered up a dozen or so for the bathroom sink. I’ll be out there again today to fill my tiny vases with their intoxicating annual fragrance.

Bathroom sink

Bathroom sink

Flowers in every room this week, with my only outlay the $5 on Sunday.

Food for the soul.

What feeds you?

Hope for the best,

Tish

PS This is my 300th blog post! Soon I will re-post my 10 most popular. Have you subscribed yet? Look for the box at the top 🙂

 

4 Responses to “Food for the Soul”


  1. 1 bronx51 May 19, 2016 at 11:00 AM

    So funny…I did the same thing yesterday…bought myself a bunch of white peonies “just because” and I put them next to my chair where I do my devotions

  2. 3 Elaine Lewis May 24, 2016 at 6:57 PM

    Hi Tish You wrote you travel with small vases. Do you also travel with flowers or get them when you arrive. When my father passed away about six weeks ago I decided to put lots of flowers as you described above. It made me happy so I have kept it up since.

    How did the retreat go in myrtle.

    Elaine

    On Thu, May 19, 2016 at 10:12 AM Hope for the Best wrote:

    > Letitia Suk posted: ” I slipped a five-dollar bill in my pocket and ran > into the grocery store right after church to pick up something essential: a > small bouquet of lilies for my desk. No matter that my fridge was fairly > empty after a week of travel, the bread and milk cou” >

  3. 4 Letitia Suk May 24, 2016 at 7:33 PM

    Elaine if I can get flowers where I’m going I don’t bring them. the first night at Myrtle beach (which was so fabulous!) I bought stargazer lilies at the grocery store. For a place like St Mary’s I bring them.


Leave a Reply

