Summer Book Report: 2016

Beach chairI knew this title would pull some of you in! If you wanted to make sure I read something you posted, about anything actually, stick it in a list of “favorite books” and I’ll be sure to notice it. I’m nosy about what other people read and like to pick up some great titles I might have missed.

I start and end my day reading and often sneak out to the back yard to indulge in a few pages during the late afternoon. Here are a few that have delighted me these past few months:

The Non-Fiction:

  1. Roots and Sky: A Journey Home In Four Seasons  by Christie Purifoy. Sigh, a most beautiful book. I finished it on the beach with tears running down my face. Will definitely come back to this.
  2. Looking for Lovely: Collecting the Moments that matter by Annie F. Downs.   I received this as a freebie at at writer’s conference and tossed it in the morning prayer basket. Soon I woke up wondering what Annie would have to say today. Definitely a “lovely.”
  3. Finding Your Name: From Insecurity to Influence by Jane Rubietta  I’ve been reaching into the basket every morning for a book in this series for almost a year. Each devotional lasts 3 months to read but much longer in my soul.
  4. Present Over Perfect: Leaving Behind Frantic For a Simpler, More Soulful way of Living  by Shauna Niequist  True confession: This just arrived yesterday but I will have it read before some of you read this post and I know it will be a favorite!

The Fiction:

  1. Luther and Katharina: A Novel of Love and Rebellion  by Jody Hedlund This book won the 2016 Christian Book Award and filled me in on a whole other side of the Reformation. Very good!
  2. The Swans of Fifth Avenue  by Melanie Benjamin. Captivating story  from my lifetime about New York society and Truman Capote. I picked it up because I like the author and the fascinating true story was enthralling.
  3. Me Before You  by JoJo Moyes I didn’t like the ending which you probably already know about but I loved the book. And yes, I read the sequel which was okay too.
  4. As Waters Gone By  by Cynthia Ruchti  The word “water” in the title got me going and the story kept me there. Another award winning book.

At least a half a dozen others spent time on my bedside table and the to-read pile is ever-growing but these are the favorites.

You  have your lists too, please share!

Hope for the best,

Tish

2 Responses to “Summer Book Report: 2016”


  1. 1 Melissa Moskowitz August 13, 2016 at 4:07 AM

    Composing a Further Life (nonfiction) – Mary Bateson
    Seventh Heaven – Alice Hoffman
    Miller’s Valley – Anna Quindlen


Leave a Reply

