Six Things I Miss About Having Kids in School

Washington School

Washington School, Evanston

Facebook is bursting with first day of school pictures this week. I’m feeling left out of a party everyone else is attending and miss having kids in school. Nostalgia is flooding in which is never hard for me!

Let me say, I was never one of the moms who couldn’t wait for them to go back to school. I detested (and still do) all the hype of buying school supplies right after 4th of July when the ads started. I have never liked packing lunches and the “back to school” shopping for four kids seemed to take a whole paycheck some years.

But mostly I just loved (usually!) having them at home and hanging around the house and yard. The first day of school always had at least one weepy moment in it.

It’s been thirty years since my first-first day of school as a mom and thirteen since the last (not counting college) but I still miss a few things like…

  1. The Rhythm of the Day: As a first stay-at-home then work-at-home mom, I structured my day by the first and last bell and knew how much I could get done in between. Now I’m in charge of the bells, a lot of responsibility!
Selah first day of first grade

First Day of First Grade

2. After School Snacks: This surprised me too when it popped up! I usually planned a snack long before I knew what was for dinner. A simpler decision which seemed part of the great hello and welcome home. Honey Milk Balls were the favorite. Popcorn and cookies smelled the best. Excuse me while I go rustle up an after-writing snack.

3. Meeting the Friends: I liked meeting my kid’s friends and getting some of their story. I’m still in touch with some of those friends now. Once they leave home, that opportunity is usually not readily available. They go “out with a friend” and that’s all you get.

4. The Community of School: We showed up at events with some of the same parents for over a dozen years. We knew enough data for little chitchats and enjoyed seeing the familiar faces. We haven’t run into hardly any of them since then. Where did they go?

5. Learning Along: One of the things I love about being a mom is the chance to feel like a kid again but still in charge 🙂 I liked learning or re-learning stuff along with them and usually read the extra books they were discovering. I got lost in some subjects in high school but it was fun while it lasted.

6. Knowing they were right around the corner. We could see the first school from our kitchen window and I liked knowing they were close by. After high school they took off for college and spent time in a few international locales. Now three of them are nearby and the other an easy plane/train ride away , just where they belong but I miss the proximity of a few minutes.

Honor Roll stickers

Four Honor Roll Stickers

If they were still in school, though, we wouldn’t be enjoying the adult-adult relationship we have now, the longest lasting one with your kids. I like this the best but I have said that about each phase.

If your kids are out of school, what do you miss?

Hope for the best,

Tish

4 Responses to “Six Things I Miss About Having Kids in School”


  1. 1 Jan peterson August 26, 2016 at 3:34 AM

    Yep, I miss those days, too. And yet memories of the years and events Of parenthood seem to have dissipated like a vapor. Just remember bits, pieces, and glimpses of the past.
    While substituting at the school I retired from, I was chatting with a teacher. I had been her kid’s teacher years ago. One has just graduated from college and her baby just started college. She was telling me what a rough time she was having with EMPTY NEST.
    I do not envy her the pain of the next couple of months, for I went through it when both my kids started down that road. I assured her she would come out on the other end in good time. But it is a hard pain…

  2. 3 dinahoverlien September 1, 2016 at 7:15 AM

    I related to this! Sounds like we have a lot of things in common, Letitia! Looking forward to reading more of your blog posts!


Leave a Reply

