Five Steps for Christmas Planning to Start Now

christmas-notebook

This Year’s Notebook

I know it is 10 days before Thanksgiving but the holiday music is on the radio and it’s time to start the Christmas lists! I crawled under the front steps last week to dig out the Christmas planning box and pulled out THE NOTEBOOK which contains all the details.

I love Christmas but enjoy it so much more with a plan for action and celebration so I can keep my focus on the birth of Jesus.  Based on my years of coaching and workshops on this topic, I think most of you want a plan as well.

Here’s how it goes…

 

First step: Gather the planning supplies:

  • Blank calendars printed from the computer, one for the rest of November, and one for December.
  • My plastic box of Christmas files which include recipes, gift lists, receipts, past newsletters, Advent activities, inspirational articles and decorating ideas.
  • A stack of old-fashioned steno notebooks which is my main planning tool each year.  One page per person, event and activity.
  • The December Good Housekeeping magazine for fun ideas.
  • Christmas journals from past years.
  • An old article from 1979 which always inspires me.
  • A Christmas CD or Pandora station
  • Hot cocoa🙂

Second step: Review the past few years of celebrations.  What worked, what didn’t and note questions I need to ask my husband, adult children, and friends about this year’s gifts/events.

Third step: Fantasize about all the magical things that could happen!

Fourth step: Do the planning

  • Begin to pencil in the calendars for what happens when.
  • Start each list in this year’s notebook including: to order, to make, to shop local, stocking stuffer ideas, etc.
  • Decide about services, projects, parties, performances.
  • Detail the steps in sending out a card.
  • Make a budget and review often.
  • Plan an item or two just for me such as attending a Lessons and Carols service or re-reading The Christmas Carol
  • Check for upcoming Holiday Specials on TV or favorites to add to my Netflix Queue.
  • Buy tickets for any upcoming events if it’s in the budget.
  • More details on this:  My Best Christmas Planning Tool

Last step:  Put it all away and enjoy Thanksgiving

Stay tuned for more holiday helps!

Hope for the best,

Tish

PS Need a little more help?  Ask me about Christmas coaching and planning classes.

PPS Are you on Goodreads? Enter to win a copy of my new book Getaway with God: Everywoman’s Guide to Personal Retreat giveaway

 

2 Responses to “Five Steps for Christmas Planning to Start Now”


  1. 1 mary nelson November 15, 2016 at 3:10 PM

    Thanks, I need some good pointers this year. You’re just on time!


Leave a Reply

