Missed Easter Surprise

basket-1139411-m“I have to have a pair of hose!” my 11-year-old self blared to my Mom. Easter early 60’s, before the invention of panty hose or at least before they showed up in Quincy. Bare legs were certainly not the trend then so it was anklets or hose. She reminded me once again she thought I was too young for the transition.

I remember pouting in the car, how she dare deny me the ONE thing I wanted. Who cared about the hollow chocolate bunny, peeps, jellybeans, and the other gifts I knew would be in the basket? (Easter was like a mini-Christmas at my house.)

When we got back home I tried one more plea, this time with tears. Mom sighed deeply, went into her room and returned with the package of hose in her hand. “I wanted to surprise you and put them in your basket,” she lamented. I think I just grabbed them and took off.

All the joy I would have experienced in the morning finding the basket was lost. My mom lost that joy too in seeing me discover the package. I don’t think I ever apologized.

Funny how that memory comes back after all these years. Now it’s God I’m blaring at about the ONE thing I just have to have. Not just for Easter but there is about one thing per day I feel I must have to make my “outfit” complete, like the pair of hose.

I am big on praying for everything and believe He invites to do so. I do want to remember the nuanced difference between asking politely and demanding my …whatever it is.

I want to choose to wait for the basket in the morning instead of pouting and grabbing. I think it’s already being prepared. Yours too.

Hope for the best,

Tish

PS Another Easter post: The Easter Corsage

3 Responses to “Missed Easter Surprise”


  1. 1 linda sylvester April 2, 2015 at 6:48 PM

    Love this!! Happy Easter!!


  1. 1 Easter Blog Round-Up | Christ's Glory, Not Mine Trackback on April 3, 2015 at 2:25 PM

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.